Term dates

Check the University鈥檚 term dates for teaching, exams, graduation, holidays and minimum service days.

Academic year dates

These dates are for all students and staff, although exact dates and assessment periods will depend on individual courses. Masters and PhD students study throughout the academic year.

Check your term, semester and assessment dates by contacting your school or checking Canvas. Examinations are held in the assessment periods and may be during evenings, on Saturdays or on bank holidays. Assessment deadlines may be during vacations or the revision week. Read more and .

If you’re an international student, check our .

Planning ahead? Skip to term dates for the 2024-25 academic year.


Academic year dates 2023-24

  Arrivals Weekend Sat 23 Sep to Sun 24 Sep 2023
  Autumn term begins Mon 25 Sep 2023
  Welcome Week Mon 25 Sep to Fri 29 Sep 2023
Semester One Semester One begins Mon 2 Oct 2023
Teaching begins Mon 2 Oct 2023
Teaching ends Fri 15 Dec 2023
Autumn term ends Fri 15 Dec 2023
Winter vacation Sat 16 Dec 2023 to Sun 7 Jan 2024
Spring term begins Mon 8 Jan 2024
Semester one assessment period begins Mon 8 Jan 2024
Semester one assessment period ends Sat 20 Jan 2024
Semester One ends Sat 20 Jan 2024
  Intersemester week Mon 22 Jan to Fri 26 Jan 2024
  Winter graduation Wed 24 and Thu 25 Jan 2024
Semester Two Semester Two begins Mon 29 Jan 2024
Teaching begins Mon 29 Jan 2024
Spring term ends Fri 22 March 2024
Spring vacation Sat 23 March to Sun 14 April 2024
Summer term begins Mon 15 April 2024
Teaching resumes Mon 15 April 2024
Resit assessment period for online distance learning modules Mon 22 April to Tue 7 May 2024
Teaching ends Fri 3 May 2024
Revision week Mon 6 May to Fri 10 May 2024
Semester two assessment period begins Mon 13 May 2024
Semester two assessment period ends Sat 1 June 2024
Summer term ends Sat 1 June 2024
Semester Two ends Sat 1 June 2024
  Summer vacation Sun 2 June to Fri 13 Sep 2024
  Summer graduation Mon 22 to Fri 26 July 2024
  Resit assessment period (all modules) Mon 12 to Sat 24 Aug 2024*
  Resit assessment period for online distance learning modules Mon 19 Aug to Mon 2 Sep 2024

*Take Away Papers (TAPs) may be set in the early part of the following week.

Minimum service days 2023-24

Christmas break Thurs 21 Dec 2023 Minimum service day
Fri 22 Dec 2023 Minimum service day
Sat 23 Dec 2023  
Sun 24 Dec 2023 Christmas Eve
Mon 25 Dec 2023 Christmas Day
Tues 26 Dec 2023 Boxing Day
Wed 27 Dec 2023 Minimum service day
Thurs 28 Dec 2023 Minimum service day
Fri 29 Dec 2023 Minimum service day
Sat 30 Dec 2023  
Sun 31 Dec 2023 New Year’s Eve
Mon 1 Jan 2024 New Year’s Day
Tues 2 Jan 2024 Minimum service day
Easter break Thurs 28 March 2024 Minimum service day
Fri 29 March 2024 Good Friday bank holiday
Sat 30 March 2024 Easter weekend
Sun 31 March 2024 Easter weekend
Mon 1 April 2024 Easter Monday bank holiday
Tues 2 April 2024 Minimum service day
  Mon 6 May 2024 Early May bank holiday
  Mon 27 May 2024 Spring bank holiday
  Mon 26 Aug 2024 Summer bank holiday

Academic year dates 2024-25

For the academic year 2024-25, Welcome Week will start on 16 September 2024. Teaching will begin on 23 September 2024 and end on 25 April 2025.

  Arrival Weekend Sat 14 Sep to Sun 15 Sep 2024
  Autumn term begins Mon 16 Sep 2024
  Welcome Week Mon 16 Sep to Fri 20 Sep 2024
Semester One Semester One begins Mon 23 Sep 2024
Teaching begins Mon 23 Sep 2024
Teaching ends Fri 6 Dec 2024
Autumn term ends Fri 6 Dec 2024
Revision week Mon 09 Dec 2024
Winter vacation Sat 14 Dec 2024 to Sun 5 Jan 2025
Spring term begins Mon 6 Jan 2025
Semester one assessment period begins Mon 6 Jan 2025
Semester one assessment period ends Sat 18 Jan 2025
Semester one ends Sat 18 Jan 2025
  Intersemester week Mon 20 to Fri 24 Jan 2025
  Winter graduation Mon 20 Jan to Fri 24 Jan 2025 (TBC)
Semester Two Semester Two begins Mon 27 Jan 2025
Teaching begins Mon 27 Jan 2025
Teaching ends Fri 11 April 2025
Spring term ends Fri 11 April 2025
Spring vacation Sat 12 April to Sun 4 May 2025
Summer term begins Tues 6 May 2025
Resit assessment period for online distance learning modules Mon 28 April to Mon 12 May 2025
Semester two assessment period begins Tues 6 May 2025
Semester two assessment period ends Sat 24 May 2025
Summer term ends Sat 24 May 2025
Semester Two ends Sat 24 May 2025
  Summer vacation Sun 25 May 2025 to Sun 21 Sep 2025
  Summer graduation Mon 14 to Fri 18 July 2025 (TBC)
  Resit assessment period (all modules) Mon 4 Aug to Sat 16 Aug 2025*

*Take Away Papers (TAPs) may be set in the early part of the following week.